Ratatouille Lifted

Yesterday I saw Ratatouille, it was very fun. They did an amazing job of showing the taste of strawberries as moving colored light. It was one of the few cases I can think of where motion made a graphic better in every way. Maybe it’s all those horrible animated banner adds I see online, but I have become very skeptical about the value of animating simple images.

But what stole the show for me was the Pixar short they opened with: Lifted. It’s hilarious, and a great example of why things need to be labeled, and why 10,000 options won’t work. If you can, you should see it. I am going to try and get a copy of it, in case I ever need to convince someone that they need to do more to differentiate controls, and not overwhelm the user with choices. you can see it here, but it’s low quality.

Explore posts in the same categories: Design, Entertainment, Usability

Leave a Reply

