Use Amazon to Search Your Books

I have started using Amazon.com to search books I own for a particular passage. It’s infinitely easier then linearly scanning through the book. It even beats out the book’s own index. Both in ease of use and completeness.

Google Books, and to a lesser extent Google Scholar have worked for me as well, but so far I have had an easier time finding a book, and searching inside it, with Amazon.

After reading an undisclosed number of pages of a book online, Amazon won’t let you see any more excerpts. So if a search result looks promising, I look it up in the book, rather then click the link, just in case. Google Books may well have a similar restriction. I don’t know, I don’t use it as much.

For ingesting a large chunk of information, books are still king. But for searching they’re pretty bad.

Explore posts in the same categories: Research, Tips

Leave a Reply

